Standardized Names Needed for Advanced Safety Technology

advanced safety technology

Thanks to the latest developments in safety technology, today’s cars are safer than ever. From automatic emergency braking to blind spot warning, these safety features help prevent car accidents by alerting the driver of a potential hazard. However, each of these features have multiple names, some of which do not accurately describe what it does. This often leaves consumers feeling confused about what to expect from their vehicle, and what limitations it may have. Consumer Reports reached out to several automotive safety organizations to come up with standardized names for the safety features found on most new cars being sold today.

According to the head of connected and automated vehicles at Consumer Reports, there is no consistency with the names of safety features. In many cases, they do not accurately describe what the safety feature does. To make matters even more confusing, the website may use one name to describe a safety feature, but the owner’s manual or the menu in the vehicle may use a different name. Researchers from AAA found that consumers encounter up to 20 names for one advanced driver assistance system (ADAS), which can cause a great deal of confusion for customers. Consumer Reports teamed up with AAA, J.D. Power, and the National Safety Council to create standardized names, allowing consumers to compare vehicles more easily.

Examples of Name Confusion

Blind spot warnings are important safety features that alert drivers who may be changing lanes or exiting off the highway that another vehicle is in their blind spot. Different car companies have different names for the blind spot warning technology. For example, Honda calls it the Blind Spot Information System, whereas Toyota calls it the Blind Spot Monitor. In some GM vehicles, it is called Lane Change Alert. When shopping for a new car and comparing the safety features of each, consumers may not understand that these are the same features, but with different names.

Standardized Names of Common ADAS Systems

The most common ADAS systems have been divided into the following five categories. As new systems are developed, the list will be updated.

Driving Control Assistance

  • Adaptive cruise control
  • Active driving assistance
  • Lane keeping assistance

Collision Warnings

  • Blind spot warning
  • Forward collision warning
  • Lane departure warning
  • Parking obstruction warning
  • Rear cross traffic warning

Collision Intervention

  • Automatic emergency braking
  • Automatic emergency steering
  • Rear automatic braking

Parking Assistance

  • Active parking assistance
  • Remote parking

Other Driver Assistance Systems

  • Automatic high beams
  • Backup camera
  • Driver monitoring
  • Head-up display
  • Night vision
  • Surround-view camera

Baltimore Car Accident Lawyers at LeViness, Tolzman & Hamilton Represent Victims of Car Accidents

Having a vehicle that is equipped with effective safety features can help prevent accidents, which is why it is so important that there is no confusion about their names. If you or someone you know was injured in a car accident, you are urged to contact the Baltimore car accident lawyers at LeViness, Tolzman & Hamilton at your earliest convenience. Our skilled legal team will work closely with you to determine the cause of the accident and who was at fault. We will secure the maximum financial compensation you deserve for your injuries. To schedule a free consultation, call us today at 800-547-4LAW (4529) or contact us online.

Our offices are located in Baltimore, Columbia, Glen Burnie, and Prince George’s County, allowing us to represent car accident victims in Maryland, including those in Anne Arundel County, Baltimore County, Carroll County, Harford County, Howard County, Montgomery County, Maryland’s Western Counties, Prince George’s County, Queen Anne’s County, Southern Maryland, and the Eastern Shore, as well as the communities of Catonsville, Essex, Halethorpe, Middle River, Rosedale, Gwynn Oak, Brooklandville, Dundalk, Pikesville, Nottingham, Windsor Mill, Lutherville, Timonium, Sparrows Point, Ridgewood, and Elkridge.