Lyft and Uber and Car SeatsJune 22, 2018
Driving with a child in the car means that you must make sure that you have the proper car seat based on the age of the child. Whether that is a rear-facing seat for an infant, a forward-facing seat with a harness for a child who is at least two years old, or a booster seat that is secured by a seat belt for a child who is at least four years old, car seats can save a child’s life in the event of a car accident.
In fact, there are strict child car seat laws to keep children safe and avoid devastating tragedies. While the majority of parents and caregivers obey these laws, an undercover investigation found that too many Uber and Lyft drivers are willing to give parents and young children rides, even if they do not have car seats.
Investigators from two local news stations in Arizona and Detroit conducted undercover investigations to see if Uber and Lyft drivers were willing to accept passengers who had children, even if the parent did not have a car seat. In the Detroit investigation, the potential passengers were a mother and her two-year-old son.
In the Arizona investigation, a mother and her infant daughter were the potential passengers. The mother with the two-year-old hailed six rides, three from Uber and three from Lyft. The mother traveling with the infant hailed four rides, two from Uber and two from Lyft. In both investigations, all but one of the drivers were willing to drive the children, even though there was no car seat present.
According to one of the Lyft drivers, the company does not provide its drivers with information about car seat laws. Therefore, if the parent or caregiver is comfortable with it, most Lyft and Uber drivers will give rides to parents with small children. If they express any concern at all, it is usually to ask the parent to hold on to their child.
Child Car Seat Recommendations
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) makes the following car seat recommendations:
- Newborn to 12 months old: Children under age one should ride in rear-facing car seats, whether it is an infant-only seat or a convertible 3-in-1 seat that can eventually move to a forward-facing seat.
- One to three years old: Each car seat has height and weight limitations from the manufacturer. The child should remain in the rear-facing position for as long as possible. When moving to a forward-facing seat, it must include a harness.
- Four to seven years old: When the child outgrows the manufacturer-recommended height and weight requirements for the forward-facing seat, he or she can switch to a booster seat that is secured by a seat belt.
- Eight to 12 years old: When the child outgrows the booster seat, he or she should continue to wear a seat belt. Make sure that it crosses the chest and not the face or neck.
Baltimore Car Accident Lawyers at LeViness, Tolzman & Hamilton Advocate for Children Injured in Car Accidents
If your child has been injured in a car accident, contact the Baltimore car accident lawyers at LeViness, Tolzman & Hamilton as soon as possible. If the accident occurred in a Lyft or Uber vehicle, and there was no car seat, we will work tirelessly to determine who is liable for your child’s injuries. We will continue to fight until justice has been served. To schedule a free consultation, call us today at 800-547-4LAW (4529) or contact us online.
Our offices are located in Baltimore, Columbia, Glen Burnie, and Towson, allowing us to represent injured victims in Maryland, including those in Anne Arundel County, Baltimore County, Carroll County, Harford County, Howard County, Montgomery County, Maryland’s Western Counties, Prince George’s County, Queen Anne’s County, Southern Maryland, and the Eastern Shore, as well as the communities of Catonsville, Essex, Halethorpe, Middle River, Rosedale, Gwynn Oak, Brooklandville, Dundalk, Pikesville, Nottingham, Windsor Mill, Lutherville, Timonium, Sparrows Point, Ridgewood, and Elkridge.